STATISTICAL SOURCES FOR THE SOCIAL SCIENCES

 
 


IMF

International Financial Statistics (IFS)

 
 

IFS, the world's most comprehensive source of statistical data, is available online. IFS statistics include current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international interest rates, prices, national accounts, and international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment positions). The online IFS database contains:

•  approximately 32,000 time series covering over 200 countries and areas including all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages

•  exchange rate series for all IMF member countries, plus selected other areas

•  selected aggregates of key variables in IFS World Tables.


IFS is used throughout the world by governments, academics, and commercial and financial organizations. Online, the information is presented in a user-friendly, easily customized manner, using standard Microsoft Excel spreadsheet formats. View International Financial Statistics Yearbook, 2008 .

 
     
  Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP)  
 

Since one of the primary functions of the IMF is to prevent financial crises and assist countries in balance of payments difficulties, the collection of standardized, comparable balance of payments data is seen as a core task. Composed of international economic transactions data, BOP delivers vital statistical information that covers:

•  total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world

•  capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities

•  tables featuring area and world totals of balance of payments components and aggregates.


The IMF Balance of Payments Statistics contains over 100,000 quarterly and annual time series data. The data include aggregate as well as detailed information in the form of analytical and standard component presentations for countries. Additional documentation is included with descriptions of methodologies, compilation practices, and data sources used by individual member countries in compiling their balance of payments and international investment position statistics. In addition, the BOP online service contains data as reported by the balance of payments correspondents to the IMF Statistics Department. The IMF BOP is updated once a month. View Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook, 2008 .

 
     
  Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT)  
 

Common wisdom holds that as countries become more integrated, they are increasingly influenced by each other's economic development. Some economies are even considered engines of global or regional growth. DOT online service provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. View Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook, 2008 .

The database includes:

•  total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level

•  data for the most recent six quarters and the latest year for 169 countries, and ten quarters and five years for the world and area tables.

•  Government Finance Statistics (GFS)

•  The IMF Government Finance Statistics contains statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries. Where reported, the database contains time series from 1990 onwards using the Government Finance Statistics Manual, 2001 (GFSM 2001) framework. The statistics, issued quarterly, are updated as new data are received and time series become available. These time series present combined statistics on revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities as well as for stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors. View Government Finance Statistics Yearbook, 2008 .

 
     
 

Statistical Yearbooks

 
 

International Financial Statistics Yearbook, 2008  

Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook, 2008

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook, 2008

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook, 2008

 

OFFSTATS - The University of Auckland Libra ry http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/

One of the best starting point for statistical sources by country, topic or subject. This service includes sources offering free and easily accessible social, economic and general data from official or similar "quotable" sources, especially those that provide both current data and time series. In the country lists, these are mainly Web pages provided by statistical offices, central banks and government departments and agencies, whereas the topics list is comprised of links to the statistics pages of international organizations and associations and a few commercial sites.

 

Statistical Resources on the Web www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
Produced by the University of Michigan Documents Center, this site has organised a range of statistical sources into categories (e.g. Agriculture, Business and Industry, economy, Health, Transportation). US biased.

 

Business Statistics on the Web P. Berinstein. Paperback 240 pages. Publisher: CyberAge Books, June 2003. ISBN: 091096565X
Organized by topic and region, explains how to find statistical information about companies, markets, and industries on the Internet; how to organize and present statistics; and how to determine their authenticity.

 
     
 

Trade Associations

 
 

Marketing Source Directory of Trade Associations www.marketingsource.com/associations/
Mainly US trade associations (90%). Priced Service .

The Scholarly Societies Project www.scholarly-societies.org
International in coverage and includes trade and research associations, royal societies, international unions and federations.

Trade Association Forum (TAF) www.taforum.org
The section on UK trade associations can be searched by name or description. Information on each association includes address, telephone and fax numbers, main contact and a link to the association's Web site.

 
     
 

Chambers of Commerce

 
 

World Chambers www.worldchambers.com
Eurochambres www.eurochambres.be
British Chambers of Commerce www.chamberonline.co.uk

 
     
  Central Banks  
 

BIS: Central Banks on the Web www.bis.org./cbanks1.htm

 
     
 

Industries

 
 

Sources of industry specific data and research are listed at

http://www.rba.co.uk/sources/industry.shtml .Sectors that are currently covered include:

Automotive , Beverages , Energy , Food , Pharmaceuticals and Telecoms .

 
     
  Key starting points  
 

Official Statistics on the Web www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz
One of the best starting point for statistical sources by country, topic or subject. This service includes sources offering free and easily accessible social, economic and general data from official or similar "quotable" sources, especially those that provide both current data and time series. In the country lists, these are mainly Web pages provided by statistical offices, central banks and government departments and agencies, whereas the topics list is comprised of links to the statistics pages of international organizations and associations and a few commercial sites.

NationMaster www.nationmaster.com
This site is produced by Rapid Intelligence Pty Ltd, an online publishing company based in Sydney, Australia. It repackages information from many different sources including the CIA World Factbook, World Bank, WHO, FAO (there is a very long list of sources on the web site). You can compare data in a variety of ways. For example you can select your own specific countries, a region, or an economic group such as OPEC and then a category and statistic for that category. The sources used for each comparison are listed and you can quickly change from totals to per capita figures, which are often more meaningful.

Alacrawiki www.alacrawiki.com
A guide to business information companies, publishers and databases. The Alacra Industry Spotlights in particular are extremely useful in providing reviews and commentary on industry specific web sites that have statistics, market research and news.

Statistical Resources on the Web www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
Produced by the University of Michigan Documents Center, this site has organised a range of statistical sources into categories (e.g. Agriculture, Business and Industry, economy, Health, Transportation). US biased.

Sources of Non-Official UK Statistics Compiled by David Mort. Gower Publishing, 6th Edition, 2006 ISBN: 978-0566087158
Provides details of nearly 1,000 publications and services (including electronic publications) produced by trade associations, professional bodies, banks, consultancies, employers' federations, forecasting organizations and others, together with statistics appearing in trade journals and periodicals. Titles and services are listed alphabetically by publisher and each entry contains information, where available, on subject, content and source of statistics, together with frequency, availability and cost, and address, telephone, email and website details for further information. The sixth edition, which has been completely updated, includes 180 new entries covering sources of information that are exclusively available on the internet.

Business Statistics on the Web P. Berinstein. Paperback 240 pages. Publisher: CyberAge Books, June 2003. ISBN: 091096565X
Organized by topic and region, explains how to find statistical information about companies, markets, and industries on the Internet; how to organize and present statistics; and how to determine their authenticity, providing accurate, timely and reliable statistical information of a high quality and broad scope, facilitating analysis and dissemination of these data, promoting their use in effective and efficient decision making and simultaneously, fostering a similar enabling environment for statistical development among Member States of the Caribbean Community.

Marketing Source Directory of Trade Associations
www.marketingsource.com/associations/
Mainly US trade associations (90%). Priced Service .

The Scholarly Societies Project www.scholarly-societies.org
International in coverage and includes trade and research associations, royal societies, international unions and federations.

Trade Association Forum (TAF) www.taforum.org
The section on UK trade associations can be searched by name or description. Information on each association includes address, telephone and fax numbers, main contact and a link to the association's Web site.

Chambers of Commerce

World Chambers www.worldchambers.com
Eurochambres www.eurochambres.be
British Chambers of Commerce www.chamberonline.co.uk

Central Banks

BIS: Central Banks on the Web www.bis.org./cbanks1.htm

 

 

International

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations www.fao.org
An incredible amount of information is available free of charge from the Statistical Databases. For example, you can find the total annual import and export figures of olive oil in value and quantity for one or more countries from 1961. No product names are mentioned, though, and you cannot track the movement of goods between two countries (see TradStat )

Market Access Database mkaccdb.eu.int
Produced by DG Trade, European Commission this site has a very useful collection of information on trade between the EU and non-EU countries. The Statistical Database gives an overview of trade flows between the EU and non-EU countries. You first select a country and then an HS (Harmonized Commodity Description) section from a list, or an HS chapter, or type in an HS code. Information goes back to 1996 and shows the value of imports and exports of the commodity to and from the EU in Euros.

International Labour Organization www.ilo.org

International Trade Centre www.intracen.org
The International Trade Centre (ITC) is the technical cooperation agency of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) for operational, enterprise-oriented aspects of trade development. Trade statistics aggregates can be found at www.intracen.org/tradstat / The data on this site is based on the COMTRADE database of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) and provides International trade statistics from 1998 to 2002. You can view export and import statistics by product group and country or by country and product group. Product groups use the 3 digits group of the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC, Rev.3). The data is presented in US dollars and you have to view import and export figures separately. You can also view trade performances of individual countries including national export performances and import profiles.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development www.oecd.org

TradStat www.tradstatweb.com
TradStat compiles official government trade statistics from reporting countries enabling you to look at exports, imports and the movement of products between countries. This is a very sophisticated and powerful service and is extremely daunting for the first time user. The support and training given by TradStat is excellent, though. The product codes are extremely detailed but no brand names are given. You have to sign up to use the service but you only pay for the reports that you generate. Priced pay-as-you-go service.

United Nations Statistics Division - Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE) unstats.un.org/unsd/comtrade/
The COMTRADE database of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) covers over 110 reporting countries with time series starting from 1962 (SITC1), 1977 (SITC2) or 1988 (SITC3 correlated to HS codes). You can search for imports or exports of a commodity (keyword, HS or SITC code) between individual countries or a country and the rest of the world. Figures are given as the trade value in US dollars and net weight (kg) and can be viewed as tables and graphs.

The free service allows you to browse 1000 records but you do not have access to the download options. Full access to the database and download facilities is by annual subscription starting at US $100 and varies depending on the number of users and records accessed.

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees www.unhcr.ch
Information about UNHCR activities and refugees. Extensive collection of statistics including "at-a-glance", numbers and graphics detailing the refugee situation world-wide and by country. Also asylum applications in Europe.  

World Bank www.worldbank.org

Population Statistics

Penn State Population Research Institute athens.pop.psu.edu/allen/LinksByCat.cfm?SubjectID=6
List of Internet sites covering demographic information.

UNICEF Statistics www.unicef.org/statis/
Statistics organised by country and giving population, GNP, fertility rate, immunisation levels, infant mortality, literacy rate.

United Nations Population Information Network www.un.org/popin/
Made available by the Population Information Network (POPIN) of the United Nations Population Division, Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis. Provides access to reports, newsletters and the POPIN Electronic Library, which in turn has links to relevant bibliographic databases e.g. Population Index Online, Popline

The World Gazetteer world-gazetteer.com
Current population figures for cities, towns and places of all countries. Browse by continent or the alphabetical list of countries, or view a list of the largest cities. For each country, there is list of the cities and major towns and their populations. Further information on how the figures have been calculated can be found in the Information section and there are links to related sources on the Web.

United States

CDC - Data & Statistics

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Your Online Source for Credible .... Statistics System (NVSS) · Online Tuberculosis Information System (OTIS) ...
www.cdc.gov/Data Statistics / - Cached

 

FedWorld www.fedworld.gov

Bureau of Labour Statistics www.bls.gov

US Department of Commerce (STAT-USA) www.stat-usa.gov

US Census Bureau www.census.gov

US Bureau of Justice Statistics www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

US National Center for Health Statistics www.cdc.gov/nchs/

US National Center for Education Statistics www.ed.gov/NCES/  

Latin America

Statistics in Latin America - LANIC

Census Information Center CIC, Inter-University Program from Latino .... Statistical Sources Columbia University Libraries; World Wide Web Virtual Library ...
lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/ statistics / -

Caribbean Statistics

Government of Trinidad and Tobago. Ministry of Planning and Development.

Trinidad and Tobago - Central Statistical Office

This is Trinidad and Tobago's home of official statistics, reflecting the twin island's economy, population and society at national and local events.

Statistical Institute of Jamaica

Provides details of statistical data for the island including census information and financial indicators

Barbados. Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs and Development.
Barbados Statistical Service

The leading provider of adequate, timely and reliable statistics in the Caribbean Region.

 

CARICOM Statistics

Provides accurate, timely and reliable statistical information of a high quality and broad scope, facilitating analysis and dissemination of these data, promoting their use in effective and efficient decision making and simultaneously, fostering a similar enabling environment for statistical development among Member States of the Caribbean Community.